I don’t want that new bathroom anymore

Today I’m linking up for Five Minute Friday.  FMF is hosted by Kate Motaung on her blog Heading Home. Today’s prompt is “want.”   {I missed Friday this week so for me it’s Five Minute Saturday}

Just over a month ago, if you’d asked me what I wanted, I wouldn’t have skipped a beat:  To5200 redecorate my bathroom.  I’d looked up all the ideas on Pinterest already and knew exactly what I was going to do, from a beautiful new tiled shower to the lovely new vanity and cabinets, new floor, cute cubbies for nice white towels folded just so, a vase with a few sprigs of some pretty {fake} flowers, all showing off the very cool jetted tub in middle.  And a neat chandelier hanging over the top a dimmer switch and candles on the side for ambience.  I talked about this bathroom incessantly, even though the bathroom we have is already pretty wonderful, and hubbie always just smiled and said, whatever you want, dear.

And then we could tackle the kitchen.  There was this incredible kitchen island I saw somewhere that would be perfect with the new pantry we’d recently had built and the awesome double ovens my hubbie got me for Christmas last year.

If you ask me now what I want, this is what I will say:  I want to be sure we have the very best doctor, the right doctor.  I want to be sure we make the best decisions for the road ahead.  I want to be sure that this man who loves me and indulges me and has cared for me for the past 38 years gets the best possible care.  I want to make him comfortable.  I want to take all the nausea and pain of chemotherapy away from him.  I want it to be me instead of him.  I want him to be with me for 38 more years.

Our faith is strong, and we don’t fear leaving this life.  We both know that God loves us dearly and works everything – everything – for good, so no matter what, it will be well with our souls.

But if you ask me what I want, I will say I want to make it go away.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I don’t want that new bathroom anymore

  1. Visiting as your FMF neighbor. It’s amazing how our priorities shift when our relationships are threatened.The Lord is walking with you two … and I’m throwing in my support as well.

    Like

  2. Wow. Visiting from #fmfparty. Thank you for putting things into perspective! All those things we think we want are so irrelevant in the face of what really matters. The Lord used you to touch my heart. Thank you! Praying for wholeness and healing for your husband.

    Like

  3. Carly says:

    So true- things are just things. People are what really matter. Praying for healing for your husband and God’s peace and comfort for you both. Visiting from FMF.

    Like

  4. Yes it all becomes clear when you read a post like this and very humbling. Horrible circumstances have a way of sifting our wants down to the really important stuff. Thanks for sharing your heart so beautifully and being so open. The title really grabbed me – so blessed to have stopped by. Prayers for you and your dear husband. Visiting from FMF link up.

    Like

  5. Marie says:

    Hello, dear new writing friend. I am deeply sorry that you and your husband are traveling this road. Your desire to skip this part of the journey makes complete sense to me. Praying that you will be enabled to remember that Jesus shines brightly in the darkness. He is there with you both.

    Like

  6. Cheryl says:

    I love how you put together the picture of a strong faith in God and equally strong desire of the heart. May God give you your heart’s desire today. Grace, peace, wisdom, and strength be yours.

    Like

Leave a comment