Half Full or Half Empty?

Today I’m writing for Five Minute Friday, where we write flat out for five minutes, unedited, on a one-word prompt. Join the fun with your own post or just read what others have done with their 300 seconds. Check it out at http://lisajobaker.com/category/five-minute-friday/ Today’s word is Last.

I’ve always been more of a cup-half-full than a cup-half-empty type of person. I fail to see the attraction of doom and gloom; I pollyannaprefer the whole “eternal optimist” take on life.  It’s a lot more fun and you don’t get all those frown lines etched into your face (although I have been told that my unrelenting Pollyannaesquesness can be wearing, to which I say, turn that frown upside down, dude).

 

Lately I’ve slipped a little in the “look on the bright side” attitude, and at a time and for a reason when most people – even the hard-core pessimists – would be shouting for joy and doing the happy dance.  I retired.  Wow, now there’s a real downer, right?

Really?  What the heck’s wrong with me?

But my retirement comes with a long list of lasts.  I left a job I loved, sold a house I loved, am leaving friends I love, am leaving family I love, and am moving half way across the country.

Where, of course, I’ll be moving into another beautiful home, with a husband I love, near friends I love, and family I love, and starting a new “job” I love – writing.

See, what I forgot for a minute there was that every last is followed by a first.  It’s that way our whole lives, right up to the time we take that last breath – followed by that first moment in the presence of our Savior.

Turn that frown upside down, dude.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Half Full or Half Empty?

  1. shortybear says:

    Love, love, love this.

  2. Mrs. H. says:

    Love the lasts and firsts. It’s always bittersweet:)

  3. jerralea says:

    I like this! “every last is followed by a first”

    Thanks for sharing that.

    By the way, I’ve been called Pollyanna, too. You are not alone!

    • Susan says:

      A fellow Pollyanna! Nice to meet you! Do you drive people crazy, too? 🙂 I’d much rather drive them crazy through cheerfulness than through gloominess. Thanks for reading, and God bless.

    • Susan says:

      Change can be intimidating. It’s good to remember that God is already there, ahead of us. 🙂 thanks for coming by and for your good wishes. God bless you.

  4. Sheena says:

    I love the reminder that every last is followed by a first. There is always hope for something new, something better! Wish you God’s best in new beginnings, Susan.

Leave a Reply

